Sir Peter Gluckman, inaugural Chair of INGSA, becomes President of the International Science Council

posted in: INGSA news 0
Input square image here

14th October 2021

Sir Peter Gluckman

International Science Council


Peter Gluckman is the Founding Chair of INGSA

The Founding Chair of INGSA, Sir Peter Gluckman, has assumed the role of President of the International Science Council. You can watch his inauguration speech at the link below. 

Sir Peter has stepped down from his role leading INGSA. Prof Remi Quirion has taken up the mantle of President of INGSA, leading our new Governing Board.

Paris, 15 October 2021 – Peter Gluckman has become President of the International Science Council (ISC), taking up the position as head of the ISC’s Governing Board for a three year mandate. Gluckman assumes leadership of the Council from outgoing President Daya Reddy, who was elected at the first ever General Assembly of the ISC in 2018. Peter Gluckman was selected as President-elect during that 2018 General Assembly

Peter Gluckman is Director of Koi Tū: The Centre for Informed Futures at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. From 2009-2018 he was first Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of New Zealand and from 2012-2018 Science Envoy for the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He was foundation chair of the International Network of Government Science Advice (INGSA) from 2014-2021.

He trained as a paediatrician and biomedical scientist, and has published over 700 papers and several academic and popular books in animal science, developmental physiology, growth and development and evolutionary biology and evolutionary medicine. He co-chaired the WHO Commission on Ending Childhood Obesity (2013-2017).

Peter Gluckman has written and spoken extensively on science-policy, risk assessment, science-diplomacy, and science-society interactions. In 2016 he received the AAAS award in Science Diplomacy. He has received the highest civilian and scientific honours in New Zealand. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of London, of the Royal Society of New Zealand, of the Academy of Medical Sciences (UK) and a member of the National Academy of Medicine (USA). He holds a Distinguished University Professorship at the University of Auckland, New Zealand and honorary chairs at the University College London, University of Southampton and National University of Singapore, and is Chief Scientific Officer of the Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences.

Watch his Incoming Presidential Address on the ISC website...